BIOGRAPHY

CHARLES KIENY

is a French accordionist, synth player and composer based in Paris & London. Graduated from Conservatoire National Supérieur de Paris in 2019, great Jazz masters inspire his approach of improvisation.

Charles is always in a hunt for new experiences and musical cross-breedings: he can be heard playing in symphony orchestra projects, as well as electronic music and jazz groups, or collaborating with live performances productions.

A longer biography can be found here.

PROJECTS

InShot_20180618_141004186modif.jpg
CKRAFT
Gregorian Jazz Metal

After a first arrangement of the Gregorian chant Victimae Pascali Laudes ("The Loudest Victim"), CKRAFT is born from the encounter between synthesiser-accordion, improvising musicians, and a strong Gojira influence.

Crozphonics
Cellos & accordion

Four movements piece, written for the 2015 & 2018 cello/accordion editions of Académie de Villecroze, overseen by Richard Galliano, Vincent Peirani & Vincent Ségal. The latter is featured in recordings of movements III and IV.

Sayag Jazz Machine
Electro - Jazz - Drum'n'Bass

Featuring synthesiser - accordion.

The original project's Jazz / Drum’n’Bass evolved in a wide sonic and scenic vector of parallel futuristic universes.

Requiem Pour L

Fourteen musicians from different continents come together around Mozart's Requiem. They merge their own musical influences with jazz, opera and popular African music, thus generating a new experience of the Requiem.

Classic Musicals

An anthology of musicals, exploring the impact of accordion and piano, and showcasing their possibilities when transcription delivers the spirit of a work by renewing it.

Premiere: Salle Cortot, Mar.27, 2020

Charolles x Lartigau
x Kieny
Free improvisation

It's in the context of "Musiques à Ouïr" collective that Charles met drummer Denis Charolles. Followed frenzy improvisation sessions with Cécile Lartigau (Ondes Martenot).

SIGN UP TO THE NEWSLETTER
  • Blanc SoundCloud Icône
  • Blanc Icône Instagram

BIOGRAPHIE

CHARLES KIENY

est accordéoniste, compositeur, et parisien; des capteurs électroniques sur son instrument lui ouvrent les portes de la synthèse. Résolument tourné vers l'improvisation, il est diplômé depuis 2019 du Conservatoire National Supérieur de Paris, spécialité Jazz et Musiques Improvisées.

 

Charles prend part  à une multitude d'expériences et de métissages esthétiques : on peut aussi bien l'entendre jouer dans des projet pour orchestre symphonique que dans de la musique électronique, des groupes de Jazz et du spectacle vivant.

Une biographie en version longue est disponible ici.

PROJETS

InShot_20180618_141004186modif.jpg
CKRAFT
Gregorian Jazz Metal

Suite à un premier arrangement du chant grégorien Victimae Pascali Laudes ("The Loudest Victim"), CKRAFT est né de la rencontre entre le synthétiseur-accordéon, des musiciens de Jazz, et une forte influence de Gojira.

Crozphonics
Violoncelles & accordéon

Pièce en quatre mouvement, écrite à l'occasion des promotions 2015 et 2018 de l'Académie de Villecroze, en compagnie de Richard Galliano, Vincent Peirani et Vincent Ségal. Ce dernier est présent sur les mouvements III et IV.

Sayag Jazz Machine
Electro - Jazz - Drum'n'Bass

Projet au synthétiseur - accordéon.

La Drum’n’Bass Jazz fondatrice du projet initial s’est muée au fil du temps, en un large vecteur sonore et scénique résolument tourné vers des univers futuristes parallèles.

Requiem Pour L

Quatorze musiciens de plusieurs continents se rencontrent autour du Requiem de Mozart. Ils le reconstruisent en fusionnant leurs influences musicales personnelles avec du jazz, de l’opéra et de la musique africaine populaire

Classic Musicals

un florilège des comédies musicales, explorant la portée du piano et de l'accordéon, en présentant un ensemble de leurs possibilités, où quand la transcription transmet l'esprit d'une œuvre en la renouvelant.

Charolles x Lartigau x Kieny
Improvisation libre

C'est dans le cadre du collectif "Musiques à Ouïr" que Charles rencontre le batteur Denis Charolles. S'ensuivent des sessions d'improvisation endiablées en compagnie de Cécile Lartigau aux Ondes Martenot.

ABONNEZ-VOUS À LA NEWSLETTER
  • Blanc SoundCloud Icône
  • Blanc Icône Instagram